The Földváry Castle is located in the Western region, 15 km away from Győr, in the village of Öttevény. The village, which has undergone numerous historical changes over time, still preserves its historical significance and rich heritage. It was first mentioned in written sources in the 13th century, under the name Öttevény, but its history goes back much further, with archaeological evidence suggesting that the area was inhabited as far back as the Bronze Age. In the Middle Ages, the village belonged to the territory of the Castle of Komárom, and then it became depopulated during the Turkish era.

The castle was built by Baron Miklós Földváry de Bernátfalva (1840-1914), one of the largest landowners of his time, for his wife in 1870. Since then, it has become a symbol of the village. The building was originally a „mansion”, but it was later expanded into a castle. After the death of Miklós Földváry, it was inherited by his daughter, Valéria (1872-1964), who married Count Károly Csáky (1873-1945) in 1895. At the time, Count Csáky was the Minister of Defense.

Thanks to its location along the Vienna-Bratislava-Budapest main road, the castle was a regular meeting place for the political elite of the time. According to legends, many decisions of national importance were actually made here.

Son of Valéria and Károly, Count Andor Csáky, a nobleman and art enthusiast inherited the Öttevény estate through his mother. In his early years, he was first drawn to poetry, writing verses, then writing economic articles, but he eventually became most interested in photography. Following this, he went on a several-year study trip to Germany and France, where he familiarized himself with the film industry. He also corresponded with the American Film Association, with whom he consulted regarding his upcoming film. In 1931, he produced a two-act silent short film drama on the Öttevény estate. The cast consisted of drama students, amateur actors, and his employees.